Geometric Group Theory in Campinas 2018 ICM Satellite Conference

Location: Campinas, São Paulo, Brazil

Dates: July 28th to July 31st 2018

Brief Description: The aim of this workshop is to gather a number of leading experts on topics of Geometrical, Homological, Dynamical and Combinatorial properties in Groups. The event will also be an important chance for many researchers in Brazil to interact with internationally renowned Mathematicians.

Observation: there will another Group Theory event in Cabo Frio (Rio de Janeiro) before ours (July 24th to July 27th), but our event has been planned to have no intersection with the dates of the Cabo Frio event and the main ICM conference in Rio de Janeiro.

Organizing Committee:

Francesco Matucci (State University of Campinas) francesco (at) Dessislava Kochloukova (State University of Campinas) desi (at)

Plamen Koshlukov (State University of Campinas) plamen (at)

Scientific Committee:

Martin Bridson (University of Oxford),

Martin Kassabov (Cornell University),

Pavel Zalesski (University of Brasilia)

Confirmed Plenary Speakers:

Alexander Lubotzky (Hebrew University of Jerusalem)

Martin Bridson (Oxford University)

Mark Sapir (Vanderbilt University)

Laurent Bartholdi (Georg-August-Universität Göttingen)

Martin Kassabov (Cornell University)

Nikolay Nikolov (Oxford University)

Rostislav Grigorchuk (Texas A&M University)

Pavel Zalesskii (Universidade de Brasilia)

Said Sidki (Universidade de Brasilia)

Alan Reid (University of Texas at Austin)

Kate Juschenko (Northwestern University)

Collin Bleak (University of St. Andrews)

James Belk (Bard College)

Yves de Cornulier (Université Lyon 1)

Olga Kharlampovich (City University of New York)

Kai-Uwe Bux (Universität Bielefeld)

Conchita Martinez-Perez (Universidad de Zaragoza)

Brita Nucinkis (University of London)

Andrew Putman (University of Notre Dame)

Nir Avni (Northwestern University)

Confirmed Parallel Sessions Speakers:

Peter Wong (Bates College) John Guaschi (Université de Caen Normandie) Thomas Weigel (Universita di Milano-Bicocca) Volodymyr Nekrashevych (Texas A&M University)

Peter Kropholler (University of Southampton) Yago Antolin (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid) Daciberg Lima Goncalves (Universidade de São Paulo) Csaba Schneider (Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais) Norai Rocco (Universidade de Brasilia) Ilir Snopche (Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro) Slobodan Tanushevski (Universidade Federal Fluminense) Marcelo Muniz Alves (Universidade Federal do Paraná) Javier Sánchez (Universidade de São Paulo) Aline Pinto (Universidade de Brasilia) Behrooz Mirzaii (ICMC-Universidade de São Paulo) Kisnney Almeida (Universidade Estadual de Feira de Santana) Igor Lima (Universidade Federal de Goiás) Francismar Lima (Universidade Tecnológica Federal do Paraná) Raimundo Bastos (Universidade de Brasilia) Nicola Sambonet (Universidade de São Paulo) Alex Dantas (Universidade Tecnológica Federal do Paraná) Theo Zapata (Universidade de Brasilia)


Fatemeh Mokari (ICMC-Universidade de São Paulo) Yuri Santos (Universität Bielefeld) Benjamin Brück (Universität Bielefeld) Pedro Henrique Daldegan (Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais) José Luis Vilca Rodriguez (Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais) Marcos Goulart Lima (Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais) Adriana Juzga Leon (Universidade Estadual de Campinas) Altair Santos de Oliveira Tosti (Universidade Estadual de Campinas) Miguel Alfredo Del Río Palma (Universidade Estadual de Campinas) Jhoel Sandoval (Universidade de Brasilia) Arbey Efren Lopez Garcia (Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro) Daniel Alber Corales (Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro)

Short Talks and Posters: we plan to have several parallel sessions to given the chance to researchers and PhD students to speak or present a poster. In particular, we plan to have researchers coming from UFRJ, UFF, UnB, USP, ICMC-USP, UFMG, UNESP, UFBA, UFRGS, UFG, UEFS, UFTM and UTFPR.

Conference URL: