Home‎ > ‎Updates‎ > ‎

Featured Survivor Series Matches (1987 - 2016)

posted Nov 18, 2016, 6:13 PM by Wrestling Scout
Image result for survivor series andre hoganThe Survivor Series was originally created to go directly against Jim Crockett Promotions' Starrcade event.  Coming off the heels of the huge WrestleMania III event earlier in the year, Vince McMahon did one of his most underhanded tactics to hobble the momentum of Crockett.  He strong-arming cable companies by threatening to withhold Wrestlemania IV from them if they aired Starrcade.  It was devastating for a show that marked the beginning of the fast decline for the only company able to the compete with WWF.

Image result for survivor series andre hoganThe Survivor Series concept was simple.  Cross-breed rivalries with one another in multi-man tag matches where combatants are eliminated one-by-one.  Although the matches were rarely great and lacked the psychology of more recent incarnations, they were fast-paced and exciting.  By 1991, they were featuring a strong singles main event, but they have always (with the exception of a few years) featured a solid Survivor Series match on the card.
  Sometimes in the semi-main, sometimes in main event, sometimes it 
was merely a two tag teams taking on two other tag teams.

The show has always been one of their so-called "Big Four" and has featured notable matches like Bret Hart and Shawn Michaels in the "Montreal Screwjob," The Rock winning a tournament to capture his first WWF title, the Undertaker defeating Hulk Hogan for his first WWF title and this year will be highlighted by the epic rematch between Goldberg and Brock Lesnar.

1987 - Hulk Hogan, Paul Orndorff, Don Muraco, Ken Patera, and Bam Bam Bigelow vs. Andre the Giant, One Man Gang, King Kong Bundy, Butch Reed, and Rick Rude 

1989 - The Ultimate Warriors (Ultimate Warrior, Shawn Michaels, Marty Jannetty and Jim Neidhart) vs. The Heenan Family (Bobby HeenanAndre the Giant, Haku and Arn Anderson)

1990 - Hulk HoganUltimate Warrior and Tito Santana vs. Ted DiBiase, Rick Martel, The Warlord, Hercules and Paul Roma 

1991 - The Legion of Doom (Hawk and Animal) and Big Boss Man defeated The Natural Disasters (Earthquake and Typhoon) and Irwin R. Schyster

1993 - The All-Americans (Lex Luger, The Undertaker, Rick Steiner and Scott Steiner) vs. The Foreign Fanatics (Yokozuna, Crush, Ludvig Borga and Quebecer Jacques

1994 - The Million Dollar Team (King Kong Bundy, Tatanka, Bam Bam Bigelow, The Heavenly Bodies (Jimmy Del Ray and Tom Prichard)) vs. Guts and Glory (Lex Luger, Mabel, Adam Bomb and The Smoking Gunns (Billy Gunn and Bart Gunn))

1996 - Faarooq, Vader, Razor Ramon, and Diesel vs. Flash Funk, Jimmy Snuka, Savio Vega, and Yokozuna

1997 - The Legion of Doom (Hawk and Animal), Ahmed Johnson and Ken Shamrock vs. The Nation of Domination (The RockFaarooq, Kama Mustafa and D'Lo Brown) 

2001 - Team WWF (The RockChris Jericho, The UndertakerKane and Big Show) vs. Team Alliance (Steve AustinRob Van Dam, Kurt Angle, Booker T and Shane McMahon) 

2003 - Team Bischoff (Chris Jericho, ChristianRandy Orton, Scott Steiner, and Mark Henry) vs. Team Austin (Shawn MichaelsRob Van DamBooker T, The Dudley Boyz (Bubba Ray Dudley and D-Von Dudley))

2004 - Randy Orton, Chris BenoitChris Jericho and Maven vs. Triple H, Edge, Batista and Snitsky 

2005 - Team Raw (Shawn MichaelsKaneBig Show, Carlito and Chris Masters) vs. Team SmackDown! (Batista, Rey Mysterio, JBL, Bobby Lashley and Randy Orton

2006 - Team Cena (John CenaKane, Bobby Lashley, Sabu, and Rob Van Dam) defeated Team Show (Big Show, Test, Montel Vontavious Porter, Finlay, and Umaga)

2008 - Team Orton (Randy Orton, Shelton Benjamin, William Regal, Cody Rhodes, and Mark Henry) vs. Team Batista (Batista, CM Punk, Kofi Kingston, Matt Hardy, and R-Truth) 

2012 - Team Ziggler (Dolph Ziggler, Wade Barrett, Damien Sandow, David Otunga and Alberto Del Rio) vs. Team Foley (The Miz, Randy Orton, Kofi Kingston, Kane and Daniel Bryan

2014 - Team Cena (John Cena, Dolph Ziggler, Big Show, Erick Rowan and Ryback) vs. Team Authority (Seth Rollins, Kane, Mark Henry, Rusev and Luke Harper) 

2016 - Team Raw (Kevin Owens, Chris Jericho, Roman Reigns, Braun Strowman, and Seth Rollins) vs. Team SmackDown (AJ Styles, Dean Ambrose, Bray Wyatt, Randy Orton, and Shane McMahon)