Wirral's heritage institutions are re-opening after the disruptions caused by the Covid-19 pandemic. Their programmes may now differ from their previous ones. Please consult their websites for current information re opening hours before travelling.
Flaybrick Memorial Gardens
The Gardens are open every day until 6pm, for pedestrian access only. Visitors are welcome to use the adjacent Tam O'Shanter complex for car parking, cafeteria and toilet facilities.
Guided walks and other event details may be found on the notice board by the main gates.
Details of guided walks are available on the Flaybrick website.
In the process of changing from an agricultural village to a growing and prosperous community of merchants, farmers and tradespeople, Oxton Village developed its own distinctive features and culture, that is still alive today. Much of what Oxton has to offer is clearly visible but the stories of people and events from history are best told entertainingly by an Oxton Society Guide.
The present Bidston Lighthouse was built by Mersey Docks and Harbour Board in 1873, to a design by George Fosbery Lyster. It served as Liverpool’s principal lighthouse until 1913, and as an electric telegraph station until 1914. The building is Grade-II listed, privately owned and frequently opened to the public.
Brimstage Hall is a medieval pele or fortified tower in the tiny hamlet of Brimstage tucked away in the heart of Wirral.
Expert opinions concerning the date of the original building range from 1175 to 1350.
There are many who believe that a carved stone corbel in the corner of the vaulted room is the original "Cheshire Cat", the inspiration behind Lewis Carroll's famous character, which had a notorious habit of disappearing, leaving only its smile behind.
Most of the Hall’s rooms and the Courtyard's outbuildings are accessible as they are now occupied by small retail businesses.
During the 1890s, Bidston Hill was purchased by the Bidston Hill Committee from Lord Vyner for public use and in 1894 the windmill was restored by a Mr R. S. Hudson. The Metropolitan Borough of Wirral carried out more remedial work over the years until 2004, when the windmill was closed for renovations. The roof was repaired in February 2006.
Wirral Transport Museum & Heritage Tramway is a working museum and running tramway preserving buses, trams & other local transport related vehicles.
Nowadays, the historic vehicles operate on the mile long Wirral Heritage Tramway with its spectacular views of Liverpool's world-famous waterfront and perform a unique educational and recreational function, so members of the public and school parties can enjoy a nostalgic journey back in time for a modest fare.
Leasowe Lighthouse is Britain's oldest surviving brick-built lighthouse. It guided shipping safely into Liverpool from 1763 until 1908. As well as a place of work it was also a family home. Open to the public on the first and third Sunday afternoons during the warmer months.
Designed by the great civil engineer Thomas Telford, the docks at Ellesmere Port were still in use as late as the 1950s. They were a marvellously self-contained world and when you visit the museum today you can still walk around its locks, docks and warehouses and visit its forge, stables and workers cottages.
There's so much to explore from the handsome Victorian buildings, which house the museum's fascinating displays, to the locks and moorings, home to colourful historic and visiting narrow boats.