Read Alikes

So you read The Sisters Grimm, and you're not sure what to read next.
Why not try one of these great books?


On the night of a raging thunderstorm, the robber king and his wife are very happy, for they have just welcomed a baby girl. That little girl, Ronia, is spirited and feisty, dancing and yelling with the robbers in their den. She feels most comfortable, though, when she is adventuring in the forest. When Ronia befriends Birk, the son of a rival robber, they are caught in the middle of a terrible battle. Check out Astrid Lindgren's Pippi Longstocking books for tales of another mighty girl.

http://discovery.lincnet.info/client/stcharles/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f461$002fSD_ILS:461473/one?qu=title%3D%22the+ordinary+princess%22&te=ILS&lm=STCHARLES_LIMIT&dt=list
by M.M. Kaye
Princess Amy of Phantasmorania has six gloriously beautiful, practically perfect older sisters, but when she is born she is given the gift of ordinariness. Her parents love her just the same, but they don't quite know what to do with her. Amy decides to take fate into her own hands, and goes off to seek a new adventure...by way of the kitchen!


Twins Alex and Conner Bailey, through the mysterious powers of a magical book of stories, travel to a strange new land. There they come face-to-face with the fairy tale characters that they grew up reading about. When you're done reading this one, read the rest of the series!



In the Valley of Fruitless Mountain, Minli lives in poverty with her family. At night, her father tells magical tales about the Jade Dragon and the Old Man of the Moon, but her mother is very unhappy and nags him about filling her head with foolish stories. Minli believes though, and sets out on a journey to find the Old Man of the Moon and ask him how her family can change their fortune. Check out the sequel to this book, Starry River of the Sky.

Cimorene is not your typical princess. She's stubborn, sarcastic and very, very bored. One day she decides that she is fed up with castle life and runs away to the forest. Once there she befriends a dragon. When a prince comes along to rescue her, she decides that she can rescue herself. The first book of the Enchanted Forest Chronicles, this book has action and humor!
After their parent's divorce, Mallory, Jared and Simon Grace move in with their Aunt Lucinda in her spooky old house. While exploring one day, Jared takes a trip in the dumbwaiter and comes upon a secret library. Inside, he finds a strange note with a cryptic message. Mysterious pranks begin to occur, and Jared is blamed. Then the children find an astonishing book called "Arthur Spiderwick's Field Guide to the Fantastical World Around You.This is the first of the Spiderwick Chronicles.

Miri feels alone in a family filled with twins. She has older brothers who are twins AND younger sisters who are twins. When her family moves into an old house in a new town, Miri's only consolation is her cool, ten-sided attic bedroom. One day she is sent to her room, but when she enters, it seems strangely different. Somehow she has traveled back in time to the year 1935 where she discovers Molly, a girl who desperately needs her help. There's magic afoot, and no time to lose!

The Night Fairy
by Laura Amy Schlitz

A young night fairy named Flory is just getting used to her wings when she loses them and is no longer able to fly. She discovers that the world is far bigger and more dangerous than she ever imagined. But Flory is fierce and willing to do whatever it takes to survive. 




Clarice Bean has trouble applying herself at school, and it's harder than ever to concentrate when mysterious things start happening. Clarice is doing her book project on her favorite heroine, Ruby Redfort, who is a schoolgirl detective. Then, she gets teamed up with the worst boy in school! The winner of the best book project gets a silver trophy, but when it disappears, Clarice finds out that she may have learned more from Ruby Redfort than she thought. This book is the first in the series about Clarice Bean.

The Rise and Fall of Mount Majestic by Jennifer Trafton
Ten-year-old Persimmony is an ordinary girl who has a fierce longing for adventure and heroics. Things are quiet on The Island at the Center of Everything until Persimmony discovers a giant secret. Now she must convince everyone on the island that they are in danger. Maybe she'll even get the chance to save the day after all.