Spirit Warrior (Barbarian/Druid)

Spirit warriors combine the primal power of a barbarian with the animal affinity of a druid. He can access the primal rage within, shrug off damage, and assume the physical form of his animal spirit.

Primary Class: Barbarian.

Secondary Class: Druid.

Alignment: Any nonlawful.

Hit Dice: d10.

Bonus Skills and Ranks: A spirit warrior may select three druid skills to add to his class skills in addition to the normal barbarian class skills. The spirit warrior gains a number of ranks at each level equal to 4 + Int modifier.

Weapon and Armor Proficiency: Spirit warriors are proficient with all simple and martial weapons, with light armor, medium armor, and with shields (except tower). A spirit warrior follows the armor restrictions described in the druid class entry.

Spirit Animal (Su): A spirit warrior has awakened his primal animal spirit deep within his soul. This spirit grants the spirit warrior a +1 competence bonus to any skill checks made as determined by the spirit type as shown on the table below. This bonus increases by +1 every four levels thereafter, to a maximum of +5 at 17th level. This ability replaces traps sense.

 Spirit Animal Table

 Spirit Type  Special Ability
 Ape Gain a bonus on Climb checks
 Bear Gain a bonus on Survival checks 
 Boar Gain a bonus on Perception checks 
 Crocodile Gain a bonus on Swim checks 
Eagle  Gain a bonus on Perception checks 
 Lion Gain a bonus on Stealth checks 
 Serpent Gain a bonus on Acrobatics checks 
Tiger  Gain a bonus on Stealth checks 
Wolf  Gain a bonus on Survival checks 

Rage Powers (Ex): This ability is exactly like the barbarian ability of the same name, except that the spirit warrior gains a rage power at 3rd level and every three levels thereafter.

Infused Body (Su): At 4th level, a spirit warrior’s body becomes one with his spirit animal and gains a +1 natural armor bonus. This bonus increases by +1 at 9th level and every five levels thereafter, to a maximum of +4 at 19th level. This ability replaces rage power at 2nd, 14th, and 20th level.

Wild Shape (Su): Once per day, a 7th level spirit warrior can wild shape as the druid ability, but can only turn himself into a Medium animal of the same type as his spirit animal. This ability functions as beast shape I, but the effect lasts for 1 hour per 2 spirit warrior levels, or until he changes back. At 10th level, a spirit warrior can wild shape twice per day, and can change into a Large form of his spirit animal. His wild shape now functions as beast shape II. At 13th level, a spirit warrior can wild shape three times per day. At 16th level, a spirit warrior can use wild shape four times per day, and can change into a Huge form of his spirit animal. His wild shape now functions as beast shape III. At 19th level, a spirit warrior can wild shape five times per day. A spirit warrior can rage while in his wild shape form. This ability replaces damage reduction.

Spirit Hybrid (Su): At 8th level, a spirit warrior can assume a humanoid hybrid form of his spirit animal whenever he wild shapes, instead of the normal animal form. When in this form, the spirit warrior gains the senses, natural armor bonus, speed, natural attacks, and racial skill modifiers of his animal form. This also allows the spirit warrior to use ranged or melee weapons in addition to natural attacks during his wild shape. This ability replaces rage power at 8th level.

Dire Spirit (Ex): At 12th level, whenever the spirit warrior wild shapes, he may add either the advanced or giant template to his spirit animal form as a free action. Adding any one of these templates increases the creature’s equivalent HD by +1. This ability replaces indomitable will.

Rage Powers: The following rage powers complement the spirit warrior multiclass archetype: animal fury, beast totem*, bestial climber (ape, bear, serpent), bestial leaper (ape, lion, tiger, wolf), bestial swimmer (boar, crocodile), fearless rage, greater beast totem*, greater spirit totem*, lesser beast totem*, lesser spirit totem*, primal scent, raging climber (ape, bear, serpent), raging leaper (ape, lion, tiger, wolf), raging swimmer (boar, crocodile), scent, spirit totem*, and terrifying howl. (*Advanced Player’s Guide)

Table: Spirit Warrior

Class Level Base Attack Bonus Fort Save Ref Save Will Save Special
1st   +1 +2  +0  +2  Fast movement, Rage, Spirit animal
 2nd  +2 +3  +0  +3  Uncanny dodge
 3rd  +3 +3  +1  +3  Rage power
 4th  +4 +4  +1  +4  Infused body
 5th  +5 +4  +1  +4  Improved uncanny dodge
 6th  +6/+1 +5  +2  +5  Rage power
 7th  +7/+2 +5  +2  +5  Wild shape 1/day
8th   +8/+3 +6  +2  +6  Spirit hybrid
9th   +9/+4 +6  +3  +6  Rage power
10th   +10/+5 +7  +3  +7  Wild shape 2/day
11th   +11/+6/+1 +7  +3  +7  Greater rage
12th   +12/+7/+2 +8  +4  +8  Rage power
13th   +13/+8/+3 +8  +4  +8  Wild shape 3/day
14th   +14/+9/+4 +9  +4  +9  Dire spirit
 15th  +15/+10/+5 +9  +5  +9  Rage power
16th   +16/+11/+6/+1  +10 +5  +10  Wild shape 4/day
17th   +17/+12/+7/+2 +10  +5  +10  Tireless rage
 18th  +18/+13/+8/+3 +11  +6  +11  Rage power
 19th  +19/+14/+9/+4 +11  +6  +11  Wild shape 5/day
 20th  +20/+15/+10/+5 +12  +6  +12  Mighty Rage

The custom content shown here is a result of a collaboration between many enthusiastic Pathfinder lovers on the Multiclass Archetypes thread on Paizo forums. This content is free to be used by all, and if it is reposted we would appreciate a linkback to the MCA thread