Noble Cat, Big

Species Descriptions

Sleek, powerful, and deadly, big cats are the omnipresent threat to many forest creatures; seldom seen, but always feared.

The quintessential stalkers, noble big cats will sometimes appoint themselves the secret protector of a particular forest or mountain. Those with a less beneficent outlook may instead announce themselves as the lord and master of such a place, meting out his own judgments on those who offend him (and are alone at night).

No matter the species, no matter the place, one constant among the noble big cats is that they do not like baboons or monkeys. The reasons for this enmity are lost to the ages, but no less fervently held for it.

The noble big cats represented by these rules include noble bobcats, cougars, jaguars, leopards, lynxes, mountain lions, ocelots, and panthers. Of these, only noble leopards and panthers can take all 3 levels of the Noble Big Cat class, while noble cougars, jaguars, mountain lions, and ocelots are limited to 2nd level, and noble bobcats and lynxes are limited to 1st level.

Noble Big Cat Species Traits
  • Ability Score Modifiers: +4 Dexterity.
  • Size: Small.
  • Size Threshold: 2nd Hit Die.
  • Base Speed: 30 ft., Climb: 20 ft.
  • Natural Weapons: Bite (1d4), 2 claws (1d3).
  • Senses: Low-light vision (Ex), scent (Ex).
  • Natural Talent Track: Skill Focus (Stealth), Weapon Finesse.
  • Skills: +4 racial bonus to Acrobatics and Stealth checks.
  • Skills: +8 racial bonus to Climb checks. A noble big cat can always choose to take 10 on a Climb check, even if rushed or threatened.
  • Family: Mammal.
  • Noble Animal Type: Noble big cats have the noble animal type except where superseded by other species traits and features.
  • Social Group: None.
  • Automatic Languages: Feline and High Fauna.
  • Bonus Languages: Bat, Camel, Canine, Common, Crocodilian, Elephant, Equine, Herdspeak, Hyena, Lizard, Monitor, Raptor, Rodent, Serpent, Simian, Songbird, Ursine, and Woodland.

Noble big cats use the Noble Big Cat character class if they wish to advance in their natural abilities.

Noble Cat, Lynx/Bobcat Sub-Species Traits

Noble lynxes and bobcats are limited to 1 level of the Noble Big Cat class.

Noble Cat, Cougar/Jaguar/Mountain Lion/Ocelot Sub-Species Traits

Noble cougars, jaguars, mountain lions, and ocelots are limited to 2 levels of the Noble Big Cat class.

Racial Feats

The following feats are available to a noble big cat character who meets the prerequisites.

  • Linked Feat