Classes‎ > ‎Core Classes‎ > ‎Cleric‎ > ‎Archetypes‎ > ‎Cleric Archetypes - Radiance House‎ > ‎

Occult Priest

Occult priests are a peculiar bunch among holy men and women, reverent to the lost ways of pact magic. Occult priests are trained by others in the fold; having adhered to the old ways of worshiping spirits as many mortals did before the practice was abolished. Occult priests typically worship deities who tolerate if not fully respect pact magic, worshiping the spirits themselves if no such god exists.

Bind Spirit

An occult priest can seal pacts with spirits. The character's binder level equals his or her cleric level, and the character binds spirits as an occultist of that same level.

This ability replaces channel energy.

Constellation Alignment

At 1st level, the occult priest aligns with one constellation. The occult priest cannot seal pacts with spirits whose constellation opposes the aligned constellation. Also, the occult priest is treated as a binder of ½ his or her cleric level when making binding checks with all unaligned spirits.

Diminished Spellcasting

An occult priest possesses 1 less spell per day at each accessible spell level. If the occult priest would receive 0 spells per day, he or she only receives the bonus spells that the occult priest would have gained for having a high Wisdom.

Married to Knowledge (Ex)

An occult priest must select the Knowledge domain, the Occult domain, or a subdomain of one of these domains. The occult priest does not receive a second domain. If the occult priest worships a deity, he or she must worship a deity whose list of domains includes the Occult domain.

Spiritual Insight

An occult priest does not need to prepare domain spell slots in advance. Instead, the character may spontaneously cast his or her domain spells.

The occult priest can apply Metamagic Feats to domain spells but doing so increases the spell's casting time to 1 full round, as with a sorcerer. The character can only cast spells in this manner in domain spell slots, even if the domain spells are also on the cleric spell list.

This ability replaces spontaneous casting.

Domain Lore

At 5th level, an occult priest selects a single cleric domain on his or her deity's list of cleric domains. This domain cannot be one the character has already selected, whether as a cleric domain or with domain lore. Add that domain's list of spells to the character's list of domain spells. An occult priest can select a subdomain with this ability, but he or she cannot select the subdomain of a domain that is already selected, and vice versa.

The occult priest selects an additional domain and adds its spells to his or her list of domain spells at 10th level and again at 15th level. An occult priest may choose to add domain spells from the following domains, even if his or her deity does not grant the domain: Knowledge, Occult, Void, or one of these domains' associated subdomains.

Domain Mastery

At 20th level, select 2 domains that you selected with domain lore. The domains you select cannot offer granted powers that you already possess. You gain those domain's granted powers.

Worshiping Pact Magic

As with many other philosophies, some clerics worship the very nature of the spirits, either by worshiping pact magic or individual spirits themselves. Clerics who worship the spirit realm are the most common of this sort and the spirit realm grants clerics with the following cleric domains: Knowledge, Magic, Occult, Repose, or Void.

GMs are encouraged to alter this list as it suits their campaign, including which subdomains are available. GMs are also encouraged to make their own lists of Cleric Domains for clerics that choose to worship spirits.