Welcome‎ > ‎

IMPORTANT SAFETY NOTICE

In view of river and weather conditions that we can experience at NKC here is a reminder to ALL club members about the policy related to members safety. 
1) Juniors under 16 must wear personal buoyancy unless the person responsible for their session agrees that it is not needed for that session.

2) In the dark and some other challenging conditions Juniors under 16 must be in a crew boat with an experienced adult paddler.

The following applies to all members paddling from the premises.

3) Paddling alone is never recommended, particularly when extreme conditions are prevailing.
4) All club members are recommended to wear personal buoyancy, particularly when extreme conditions are prevailing. (See below)
5) Extreme conditions include but are not confined to, severe weather (strong winds, thunder storms etc.) darkness, temperatures below freezing and high water/strong current conditions. River Trent Levels at NKC  "rule of thumb guidance"

===============================================================================================================

6) Red lights that show both in front (flashing) and behind (steady) boat or paddler should be displayed in all sessions during the hours of darkness

===============================================================================================================

. SAFETY ADVICE 2017 onward - see detail


A combination of conditions obviously makes this advice even more important - e.g. cold with wind or darkness.

Current Situation and warning

  • Fri 28th No warning
  • Tue 25th  The river is moderate having risen and fallen, but stays on the edge of "yellow."
  • No warning
  • Mon 10/5/21 The river is moderate having risen and fallen, but stays on the edge of "yellow."

River Level & Weather Links

Colwick Clifton Soar/Trent confluence Derwent/Trent confluence Shardlow Willington (approx 12 hours upstream) River Dove just before Trent confluence Drakelow (just under 24 hours upstream)

BBC Weather  XC Weather The Trent  catchment area upstream of NKC includes the rivers Dove, Derwent, Soar, Erewash & Leen. Together with the Upper Trent, all contribute to the height and flow at NKC

Previous warnings

  • Wed 5/5/21 The river has risen slightly but not to a significant height and is now about to drop. The tributaries and upper Trent are already falling. No strong winds forecast in the near future and the next heavy rain is not forecast until Saturday 8th May.
  • Tue 4/5/21 The river has risen slightly but strong winds (40mph+) are forecast until after midday, subsiding to a fresh breeze(20mph+) by evening.
  • Mon 3/5/21 Please be aware that there is a potential rise in river level in the next 36 hours.
  • Wed 17th Mar The Trent has fallen steadily and is back to low. No current warnings.
  • Mon 15th Mar  Please note that the Trent has levelled out at Moderate but not high enough to be a yellow warning.
  • Fri 12th Mar With recent rain, the Trent is rising slowly, but no warnings yet in place.
  • Thu 25th Feb The Trent continues to fall slowly.
  • Wed 24th Feb The Trent continues to fall slowly.
  • Tue 23rd Feb No change
  • Mon 22nd Feb The Trent has dropped slightly to Low.
  • Sun 21st Feb The Trent is fairly level at the low end of moderate. Heavy rain is forecast in Derbyshire & Staffordshire which may change this in the next 48 hours.
  • Sat 20th Feb The Trent has levelled out at the low end of moderate.
  • Fri 19th Feb  The Trent is still fairly level but may rise slightly.
  • Thu 18th Feb The Trent remains level at Moderate.
  • Wed 17th Feb The Trent has leveled out at Moderate but is forecast to rise again before the end of the week.
  • Tue 16th Feb The Trent is still rising slowly and has reached "Moderate."
  • Mon 15th Feb The Trent is rising slightly and is expected to reach Moderate during the next 24 hours.
  • Sun 14th Feb The Trent has returned to "Low" levels although with forecast rain, sleet and snow is likely to rise to moderate in the next 24 hours.
  • Fri 12th Feb The Trent is still falling and is back to "Moderate." Temperatures still freezing until Sunday.
  • Thu 11th Feb The Trent is falling steadily and will be "Moderate" during the morning. The temperature remains freezing but is forecast to improve by Sunday.
  • Wed 10th Feb The Trent is down to "Slightly high" and still falling steadily. More freezing weather today but forecast to improve during the week.
  • Tue 9th Feb The Trent continues to drop steadily at NKC. The level is down to "High" although the temperature is unlikely to rise much above freezing.
  • Mon 8th Feb The Trent has dropped back to "Very high" overnight and is forecast to continue falling. The temperature is not forecast to rise much above freezing for the next 7 days at least around NKC.
  • Sun 7th Feb The Trent is rising again and just reached "Severe flood" levels. Also be aware that wind is expected to gust at around 40mph from 10:00 onwards today.
  • Sat 6th Feb The Trent has fallen to "Very high" level but expected to be back to "Severe flood" in the next 24 hours. The northern tributaries are falling, but the Soar is rising again. Forecast rain, sleet & snow will probably affect all the tributaries.
  • Fri 5th Feb The Trent remains at the same "Severe flood" height but is expected to start falling within the next 36 hours.
  • Thu 4th Feb The Trent at NKC has levelled out at "Severe flood" conditions with no forecast of dropping much in the next 36 hours.
  • Wed 3rd Feb The Trent at NKC is rising slightly and is still in "Severe flood" conditions.It is expected to start falling in the next 24 hours. The Trent above Burton and the River Soar have just started to fall, but the Dove, Derwent & Erewash are still rising.
  • Tue 2nd Feb The Trent dropped overnight but is now rising again and still in "Severe flood" conditions.
  • Mon 1st Feb The Trent continues to fall steadily but remains in "Severe flood" conditions for the next 24 hours.
  • Sun 31st Jan The Trent has begun to fall steadily but remains in "Severe flood" conditions at NKC. The upper Trent continues to be in "Severe flood" conditions, higher than forecast, although all the tributaries have dropped significantly.
  • Sat 30th Jan The Trent continues to rise and the "Severe flood" conditions have once again reached the stage where property will suffer. The tributaries are all starting to fall, but the upper Trent has risen higher than predicted so at NKC it is unlikely to start falling for another 24 hours.Winds are expected to gust around 30mph today.
  • Fri 29th Jan The Trent is in "Severe Flood" conditions and still rising slowly. It is not expected to drop much in the next 48 hours.
  • Thu 28th Jan During the day the Trent has risen back to Severe flood conditions but will peak overnight and then begin falling again.
  • Wed 27th Jan The Trent remains high and forecast to rise again.
  • Tue 26th Jan The Trent continues to fall steadily and is back down to "High." The forecast is to continue to fall over the next 24 hours.
  • Mon 25th Jan The Trent is falling steadily but is still "Very High." The tributaries and the upper Trent are all down with the Trent at NKC likely to be down to a "High" level in the next 24 hours. Be careful of freezing temperatures for the next 24 hours though. Temperatures rising for the next few days followed by stronger winds forecast towards the end of the week.
  • Sun 24th Jan The Trent continues to fall steadily but is still at a "Severe flood" level. All the tributaries are well down, but the Trent remains in flood conditions along its length.
  • Sat 23rd Jan The Trent is falling but still at a "Severe flood" level.
  • Fri 22nd Jan The Trent at NKC is still rising but will peak in the next 24 to 36 hours. The tributaries are all falling, however the whole length of the Trent from Burton to Newark remains in Severe flood conditions and continues to rise as the tributaries empty and the flooded fields drain. Clifton is an exception where it is expected to peak in the next 12 hours.
  • Thu 21st Jan The Trent is in severe flood and will continue rising until at least midday tomorrow. It has reached the stage where property is threatened. The Park and Ride at Clifton Bridge is likely to be under water and paths such as under Trent Bridge are also likely to be. Take great care. The Dove, Derwent and Soar are all in flood conditions
  • Wed 20th Jan The Trent is still rising and remains in severe flood conditions. With continued rain and flooding associated with the tributaries it will remain that way for the foreseeable future.
  • Tue 19th Jan The Trent has fallen to "very high" overnight but is already rising again. Rain and fresh breeze will add to poor conditions and by the midday the reiver will be back to "severe flood" conditions.
  • Mon 18th Jan The Trent is falling and by this evening will drop below the "severe" level. 
  • Sun 17th Jan The Trent is still in Severe Flood conditions but began to fall overnight.
  • Sat 16th Jan The Trent remains in Severe Flood conditions although the tributaries are all falling.
  • Fri 15th Jan The Trent is in Severe Flood conditions - see" rule of thumb guidance."
  • Thu 14th Jan The Trent has begun rising quite quickly. During the course of the morning it is expected to reach High. Temperatures are falling and sleet is forecast.
  • Wed 13th Jan The Trent has risen overnight and is up to "slightly high." Considerable care required. With more rain forecast and all tributaries heading towards flood conditions the river is expected to be much higher in the next 24 hours.
  • Tue 12th Jan The Trent remains low although with the tributaries all up a little is forecast to rise in the next 12 hours (20:00)
  • Sat 9th Jan The Trent remains low and calm. Take care in the cold.
  • Fri 8th Jan The Trent is at low level at NKC however with temperatures around freezing, please be aware that with no facilities at the club available, a swim could be quite serious in terms of cold and at the least very unpleasant. Take additional care and read the restrictions.
  • Sat 2nd Jan The Trent is back to Moderate and will fall to normal low conditions during the next 24 hours.
  • Fri 1st Jan 2021 The Trent has fallen to moderate and continues to drop steadily.
  • Thu 31st Dec The Trent is still falling steadily and is only slightly high and likely to return to "moderate" during the day, but freezing conditions require more caution.
  • Wed 30th Dec The Trent continues to fall steadily.
  • Tue 29th Dec The Trent is falling slowly but remains "high."
  • Mon 28th Dec The Trent is just peaking and should start to drop during the day. Didn't quite reach Severe but still very high though.
  • Sun 27th Dec The Trent temporarily went down as low as "slightly high" overnight, but is already rising again after last night's rain. The Upper Trent, Dove, Derwent and Soar are all rising rapidly and the Trent is forecast to be back to "Severe" by midnight.
  • Sat 26th Dec The Trent is still high at NKC but continues to fall steadily. (2.9m at Colwick, below the top step outside the club.)
  • Fri 25th Dec The Trent is still high but falling steadily.
  • Thu 24th Dec The Trent is currently extremely high at NKC. Water over the top step to the grass. None of the tributaries are very bad although there is some flooding including the Upper Trent below Burton so it will take a day ot so to clear keeping the Trent high at Nottingham. Air temperatures are forecast to be freezing so conditions are extreme. Appropriate precautions required. (see  River Trent Levels at NKC  "rule of thumb guidance")
  • Wed 23rd Dec The river is high and continueing to rise. Over the 2nd step at NKC. If is forecast to reach Very High in the next 24 hours with a possibility of localised flooding in all the usual places. Be aware that the temperature is forecast to go down to freezing too.
  • Tue 22nd Dec The river remains high and is not likely to fall much in the next 24 hours. With rain forecast for tomorrow, a further rise is possible.
  • Mon 21st Dec The river is still high and is expected to continue rising for at least 24 hours. Extra caution required.
  • Sun 20th Dec The river has risen to high. Take great care.
  • Sat 19th Dec The river is still moderate but forcast to rise to high over the next 24 hours.
  • Thu 17th Dec The river rose slightly but is now moderate and falling steadily.
  • Wed 16th Dec The river is falling slightly to moderate but forcast to rise again in the next 24 hours.
  • Tue 15th Dec The river level remains slightly high with the wide step between Trent Bridge and the Suspension Bridge still just covered.
  • Mon 14th Dec Slightly High and still rising. High expected mid afternoon.
  • Sun 13th Dec The river is rising into the yellow again expected to continue during the next 24 hour and into the red.
  • Sat 12th Dec The river is moderate but still just "in the green."
  • Fri 11th Dec The river continues to fall.
  • Wed 9th Dec The river has fallen to low.
  • Sat 7th Dec The river is falling.
  • Fri 6th Dec The river is at moderate level.
  • Tue 24th Nov Low levels continue.
  • Tue 10th Nov No current warning for weather or water conditions.
  • Sat 10th Oct The Trent is just dropping back to normal level.
  • Wed 7th/Thu 8th Oct Please be aware that overnight rain could bring the river up to Moderate in the next 24 - 48 hours.
  • Thu 27th Aug The level is still moderate but falling steadily.
  • Wed 26th Aug The river level is moderate. Take care in case of debris blown down by recent wind and washed down by slightly higher water level.
  • Tue 25th Aug Very strong winds most of the day. (50+ mph)  Also a possibility of thunder storms  midday to mid afternoon. The river level is forecast to rise in the next 48 hours too.
  • Wed 19th Aug The river is rising slowly but still within normal summer levels.
  • Sat 20th June Moderate and falling.
  • Fri 19th June The Trent is falling steadily - care with debris still needed.
  • Thu 18th June Be aware that the heavy rain has caused flooding in Trent tributaries like the Soar so this could cause a rise in the Trent in the next 24 hours.