This was absolutely our best year yet! We feel that we've really come into our own as an event, and the community has shown us so much love and enthusiasm. This year we displayed nearly 250 pieces of art from 120 artists. It is the creative efforts of you artists that make this show possible- thank you all so much for making it such a wonderful weekend, and for sharing your art with the community. We'd also like to thank the art students who ran interactive art projects throughout the weekend. They added a level of depth to our ability to engage with the public. We're already looking forward to next year!

Your TAPS team,
Jamie Molaro, Sarah Peacock, James Keane, and Hannah Tanquary

TAPS 2015

Photos by Mallory Shibe and Nathan Taylor, as noted.

Art Interventions
The students in this class organized “art interventions,” interactive and collaborative art projects that show attendees could participate in during the exhibition. One group interviewed attendees about what inspired them about art and science, and is creating a video about the art show. Another group had paper tiles to color, which when put together created colorful mosaics depicting visual representations of scientific equations. A third group built a chalkboard which simply had a fill in the blank statement: “When I look at the sky, I _____.” These (very popular) projects brought a new level of engagement to the art show by allowing attendees to also become artists.

(link to video here, when ready)

UA Museum of Art: Special Feature on Robert McCall
This year we featured a special exhibit from the UA Museum of Art on legendary space artist Robert McCall. McCall worked as an artist for NASA documenting the history of the space race. He was one of the first to combine science and art, and the impact of his work is still important today. His fantastical planetary landscapes and scenes futuristic spacecrafts and astronauts can be found on postage stamps, NASA mission patches, at the National Air and Space Museum, the National Gallery of Art, the Pentagon, Epcot Center, and the Lyndon B. Johnson Space Center. He even contributed to numerous films, such as 2001: A Space Odyssey and Star Trek: The Motion Picture. This special display honored his work, and his role in bringing science to the public. A special thanks to Jill McCleary for arranging this!

In the News
Thanks to Mikayla Mace (The Daily Wildcat) and Rebecca Peiffer (UANews) for their interest in writing about us!



Best in Show 
Gautham Narayan, "Stormclouds Approach Kitt Peak"
(see artwork descriptions)

People's Choice 
Jamie Molaro, "Stress, on the Rocks" 
(see artwork descriptions)

Fine Art
1st Place: Andrew Nelson, "Robot 30/Plantimal 2" (left)
2nd Place:  Patrick Cobb, "Geomagnetic Reversal 2" (right)
3rd Place: 
Matthew Stricker, "Port 2099" (bottom)
(see artwork descriptions)

Data Art
1st Place: Josh Lothringer, "Exo-Resonance" (top)
2nd Place: James Tuttle Keane, "The Moon, in Gravity" (bottom)
3rd Place: 
Stephen Scheidt, "Wind and Water at Great Sand Dunes, Colorado" (right, double panel)
(see artwork descriptions)

Honorable Mentions

Eric Sahr, "Saturn V, First Stage" (top left)
Mark Prusten, "Multiple Event Horizons" (top right)
Simon Kregar, "The Wanderer" (bottom left)
Earl Billick, "Swan's Blossom" (bottom center)
Dave Shaddix, "LEG-OSIRIS-REx" (bottom right)

Joe Spitale
Dolores Hill
Ruben Garcia (Mr. Meteorite )
Gary Fujihara (Big Kahuna Meteorites Inc.)
David Frances (Tucson Happenings)
Pamela & David Simon
Sarah Morrison

Maria Schuchardt & the Space Imaging Center
Lisa Hochtritt & the students of ARE 420
Dr. Timothy Swindle (LPL Dept. Head)
Theresa Hentz & Lisa Hochtritt (TAPS 2015 Judges)
Jillian McCleary (University of Arizona Museum of Art)
William Plant (Flandrau Planetarium)

Michelle Thompson, Hamish Hay, Josh Lothringer, and the students of ARE 420

Thanks to all of our 2015 participants!

Adam Showman
Adolph Schaller
Adrian Cornejo
Alex Downs 
Ali Bramson
Allison M McGraw
Amanda Rohrbach
Amelia Francesco
Amy Nicole Robertson
Amy Sansbury Manning
Andrew Lincoln Nelson
Anu Condon
BG Boyd
Bonnie Lou Coleman
C.J. Shane
Carlos Rene Pacheco
Caroline Pyevich
Carolyn Leigh
Carolyn Wayland
Carson Rose
Caryl Clement
Cassandra C. Travis
Chris Summitt
Chris Sutherland
Christine Rueter
Dave Kish
Dave Shaddix
Deepak Dhingra
Dimitri Manos
Dinah Jasensky
Dolores Hill
Earl Billick
Eduardo Latorre
Eric Sahr
Frances Hennessey
Gautham Narayan
Geoffrey Angle
Gloria McMillan
Hamish Hay
Ian Reasor
Intan Yokelson
Isamu Matsuyama
Jackie Mendenhall
Jackson Boelts
James Tuttle Keane
James V Scotti
Jamie Molaro
Jana Becker
Jay Kyle Petersen
Jessie Shinn
Joanna Jenks
Joe Quarnberg
Joseph Spitale
Joshua Lothringer
Joy Hill
Joy Mona
Julie Kate Anderson
Katy Galaz
Keith Hudson
Kelly Miller
Ken Tesoriere
Kerri Dugan
Kevin Wagner
Krupa Bhakta 
Lester Salberg
Lexi Coburn
Luke Hawley
Lynn Waltke
Margaret E. Landis
Marian Kozachik
Marilynn Flynn
Marina Cornelius
Mark Prusten
Martin Mongan
Mary Whitehead
Matthew Stricker
Melissa Durham
Melissa Dykhuis
Michael Dixon
Michael Heiland
Michael J.Sullivan 
Michael Rogers
Michelle Fealk
Michelle Rouch
Michelle Thompson
Monte Workman & John Sweeden
Mrs. Leyva's 4th/5th grade class
Nancy Drigotas
Nancy Hendler
Nathanial Hendler
Olga Guse
Patrick Cobb
Rachel VanDaalen
Reid Silvern
Rhonda Thomas-Urdang
Richard "Rik" Hill
Roberta Masciarelli
Ron Cottrell
Ronald Cottrell
Ryleigh Fitzpatrick
Sam Mitman
Sarah Osborne
Sarah Peacock
Sean Parker
Shea Zimmerman
Shelly Black
Simon Kregar 
Stephanie Behning 
Stephen Scheidt
Tad Komacek
Theresa Hentz
Toni Littlejohn
Trace Bartels
Twink Monrad
Ximena Ruden
yuan chung wang
Zachary Ruetz