Books‎ > ‎Book Reviews‎ > ‎

Pupil Recommendations

Here you can find book reviews that people have uploaded and can use for examples and ideas on what to write.

Caged

posted 29 May 2017, 03:51 by W Plain

Reviewer:
Louise
Title: Caged
Author: Theresa Breslin
Plot: Kai is a young man who was living on the streets. That is until Sparticus comes along and tells him that he has potential. Sparticus is the head of a young homeless peoples fighting ring. Kai is a good fighter although with the police trying to track down the young fighters they all have to keep a low profile. One day Kai must go above ground and out of the tunnels in which the cage fighters live. When he does, he finds bird girl, a keen photographer looking for her sister. But with potentially dangerous photos on her camera the question arises, will bird girl find her sister, and will the cage fighters get caught.
What Did You Like About The Book: I enjoyed this book because the use of language was excellent. The story flowed well and the use of small chapters made you go from one chapter to the next with ease.
Would You Recommend This Book To Others: I would definitely recommend this book to others. The plot had me hooked from the start and I enjoyed every chapter that I read
Rating: 4/5

Welcome To Nowhere

posted 29 May 2017, 03:48 by W Plain

Reviewer:
Sarah
Title: Welcome to Nowhere
Author: Elizabeth Laird
Plot: A war zone in Afghanistan
What Did You Like About The Book: I liked the plot of the story
What Did You Not Like About The Book: There were not enough pictures
Would You Recommend This Book To Others: yes I would
Rating: 5/5

Riverkeep

posted 29 May 2017, 03:25 by W Plain

Reviewer:
Louise
Title: Riverkeep
Author: Martin Stewart
Plot: Wull and his father are the current riverkeeps. This is a job that involves searching the river for corpses and other nasty things. One day Wull and his father are out on the boat and his father gets pulled under and taken into the depths of the river. Panicking, Wull heads back to his small house where he spends the night before his father comes back to meet him. With one difference his father has been possessed and that the only cure is within the sea beast known as the mormorach.
What Did You Like About The Book: The book was well written and used clever wording and statements. The author also went into incredible detail about the characters and the scenes.
What Did You Not Like About The Book: The author put in a lot of detail but I believe that that half of it was unnecessary. I believe that the author could have missed out a lot of the detail therefore helping the book flow.
Would You Recommend This Book To Others: This book was not to my taste but that does not mean that it was a bad book. It was well written and was an interesting story. I would say to anyone who was reading this book to keep going for it takes a little while to get into the story but when you do you enjoy it. So yes I would recommend this book
Rating: 2/5

Night Shift

posted 29 May 2017, 03:23 by W Plain

Reviewer:
Finley
Title: Night Shift
Author: Debi Gliori
Plot: It is about fighting depression
What Did You Like About The Book: The pictures are very detailed
What Did You Not Like About The Book: Nothing I loved it all
Would You Recommend This Book To Others: Yes it will help people
Rating: 5/5

Phoenix Rising

posted 27 Mar 2017, 01:00 by W Plain

Reviewer: Thomas
Title: Phoenix Rising
Author: Bryony Pearce
Plot: There are two ships full of pirates that hate each other, and both want solar panels for their ships-the phoenix and the banshee-but when the phoenix's captain and some crew are taken hostage in Tarifa, Ayla from the banshee agrees to help Toby and the remaining crew to get him back. This leads to Toby, Hiko, Ayla and a dock rat called D'von sneaking into Tarifa's Castle. They manage to get to the phoenix with the captain and most of the crew. Ayla betrays Toby but he is rescued by some crew members. The phoenix in the end reaches the solar panels first, but Toby is still upset at Ayla's betrayal.
Liked: It explained how the pirates would act differently due to the level of junk in the sea very well. It is full of action and I personally liked the fact that it is set in the future for if we were to throw all our rubbish in the sea. The book contained very detailed descriptions.
Disliked: It could have finished with the banshee finding the phoenix's dropped panels.
Recommend: Yes definitely, it is a very detailed, well written, action-packed adventure full of thrills.
Rating: 5/5

Paper Towns

posted 13 Mar 2017, 02:33 by W Plain

 
Reviewer: Katie
Title: Paper Towns
Author: John Green
Plot: The story follows childhood neighbours Quentin Jacobsen and Margo Roth Spielgelman. The book focuses on the relationship between the two characters. At high school they drift apart so it comes as a big surprise when Margo climbs through his window in the middle of the night and they embark on a night of revenge and adventure. The following day Margo is no-where to be seen. All that is left are a few meaningless clues for Quentin to find. Throughout the book Quentin and his friends try to make sense of the clues and try to see if they lead anywhere.
Like: I really liked reading Paper Town; it was comical in some senses but still quite mysterious in some places. It is very descriptive and describes Quentin's emotions very well. It has mystery, love and drama which make for a brilliant book.
Disliked: I found no flaws in this book.
Recommend: I would recommend this book to teenagers because you can empathise with the characters’. I loved reading this book and think others would too because it is so captivating.
Rating: 4/5

The World Of Norm: May Produce Gas

posted 20 Feb 2017, 06:44 by W Plain

Reviewer:
Paul
Title: The World Of Norm: May Produce Gas
Author: Jonathan Meres
Plot: Norm was arguing with his parents a lot and his brother was getting bullied a lot at school. He didn’t like his brother getting bullied. Norm was getting cross at a lot of things and this book is about him hanging about with his friends, and his Grandad his teasing him a little.
What Did You Like About The Book: Bits of the book was funny
What Did You Not Like About The Book: It was not interesting at all and it was quite boring.
Would You Recommend This Book To Others: For the start, as it was quite interesting.
Rating: 3/5

Holes

posted 20 Feb 2017, 06:38 by W Plain

Reviewer:
Robert
Title: Holes
Author: Louis Sachar
Plot: A Boy Called Stanley Yelnats and his family have a long history of simply having bad luck but one day Stanley's bad luck got him sent to court the judge gave him a chose to either go to jail or go to camp green lake so Stanley went to camp green lake.
What Did You Like About The Book: I like this book because in the story camp green lake goes back in history when it was a lake and when people were very racist and how it all began.
What Did You Not Like About The Book: Nothing
Would You Recommend This Book To Others: Yes, because if you do read it you will want to read it again and again and the plot and story is really good.
Rating: 5/5

Cherub: The Recruit

posted 20 Feb 2017, 06:35 by W Plain

Reviewer:
Louise
Title: Cherub: The recruit
Author: Robert Muchamore
Plot: James is a typical student until he gets recruited to cherub a government association dedicated to bringing down criminals. The only difference is, cherub uses children
What Did You Like About The Book: I enjoyed this book because I like adventure books and this book was very exciting
Would You Recommend the Book To Others: I would recommend this book to other people especially those who enjoy quick action packed books.
Rating: 4/5

How To Update Your Parents

posted 20 Feb 2017, 06:26 by W Plain

Reviewer: 
Kotryna
Title: How To Update Your Parents
Author: Pete Johnson
Plot: There was a boy called Louis and a girl called Maddy. Maddy`s parents want to move to America and Louis and Maddy have an idea to make Maddy live in Louis house...it didn`t work her parents still what to move to America and they moved to America.
What Did You Like About The Book: It was quite fun to read jokes in book
What Did You Not Like About The Book: It had some hard wards
Would You Recommend This Book To Others: Yeah I would like to recommend this book to others
Rating: 4/5

1-10 of 29