DCCX-2012- Presented by Raleigh Bicycles

Van Gilder and Dewald: Repeat Champions at DCCX

Laura Van Gilder (Mellow Mushroom) and Ryan DeWald (SEAVS-Haymarket Bicycles) pulled away from a record field of competitors to repeat as champions of the sixth-annual Raleigh Bicycles’ DCCX cyclocross race in Washington, D.C. yesterday.

On a course that demanded both raw power and a deft technical touch on some newly carved off-camber turns and rain-softened corners, Van Gilder and Arley Kemmerer (C3 – Athletes Serving Athletes), once again put in an early charge to try to pull away from a field of racers including Devon Gorry (NOW and Novartis for MS) and Kelly Fisher-Goodwin (Boo bicycles). Just as in last year’s race, Van Gilder used her power to gap Kemmerer and claim the top spot on the podium and the treasured DogfishHead My Antonia brew from Staples Corner Liquors in Crofton, MD. The women’s elite race of more than 40 racers split a payout of $1,900, 18 deep.

Family Bike Shops

In the men’s elite race, previous foes DeWald, Weston Schempf and Jared Nieters have teamed up this year together on the SEAVS-Haymarket team, forming a kind of Miami Heat of the MABRA region. At the gun, the three of them moved to the head of the field, and worked together in a tactical display of force to shed much of the deep field. After just a two laps, only Nick Waite (Pro Tested Gear) was with the men in black and orange, and soon afterwards he too popped off the back. The SEAVS-Haymarket riders stayed together until the end, and at the finish DeWald, who had won DCCX in 2009, took the victory, with Schempf and Nieters right behind, sweeping the top three spots and sharing their payouts.

DCCX, which is organized by the DCMTB bicycling team, attracted a record 900 riders on a wonderfully autumnal day on the grounds of the Armed Forces Retirement Home in the heart of Washington. The race is part of the Bikereg.com MABRAcross Super 8 race series and the Cyclocross National Championship series.  In addition to Raleigh, which brought out a slate of swanky carbon, electronic shifting bicycles and — amazingly — let riders test them out during their race, top sponsors include Family Bike Shop, which sells a full suite of Raleigh bikes, and Terra Landscape Solutions, which donated dozens of hours to clear out brush and mow down the high grass on the course into a fast-running putting green.
This year the race was honored to have the participation of four military veterans,  including three who live at the retirement home. Dallas Jones, a World War II hero, gave the awards to kids participating in the Lil’ Belgians race. Bob Carlozzi, a Vietnam War veteran, David Lasseter, an Iraq War veteran and Neil Furgeson, a Korean War veteran, congratulated the podium finishers in the masters’ and women’s races.

In addition to the elite winners, DCCX attracted some of the most decorated riders in the country to compete — and enjoy its legendary party: 55+ national champion Paul Curley, national champion Fred Wittwer, mountain-biking legend Sue Haywood, and Jerzy Wozniak, a former Polish Olympian. Our sponsors also got out there and raced too: Jack Fisher of Staples Liquor in the CAT 4 race, Sarah Seibold of Family Bikes in the Rookies Race, Jonathan Seibold of Family Bikes in the Singlespeed category and Tom Carter of Terra Landscaping in the Masters race.

DC Dutch club makes their awesome poffertjies

DCCX 2012- Presented by Raleigh Bicycles


DCCX Expands 2-day program in 2012!

October 20, 2012 Women’s CX Clinic, Open Course

October 21, 2012 DCCX 

DCCX has quickly grown to be one of the largest Cyclocross Races on the East Coast, with 900 registrants in 2011.  DCCX races are part of the Super 8 Cyclocross Series and will be listed on the new CXNC (Cyclocross National Calendar, details TBD).

Elite men and women purse:
$1750/18 deep  Men and Women



Racing begins 8:15 and continues until ~ 5pm

Race Announcing at DCCX is by Shawn “Bega” Blumenfeld. Bega has worked in numerous roles in the cycling world including

Bega checks the results

Race promoter, racer, Pro team director, Personal coach/fitter  and bike shop manager/mechanic.  As an announcer, Bega brings a high level of professionalism that enhances the experience for racers and spectators, recognizes the sponsors, and smooths the workload for promoters. You can contact him for your event at: shawnbega@dcbikeracing.com

DCCX is presented by DCMTB and is hosted on the beautiful campus of the Armed Forced Retirement Home, site of the Historic President Lincoln’s Cottage in NW, Washington, DC. There is ample, free parking on site, adjacent to the course.

Directions:  the current AFRH entrance is located at the Randolph Street Gate on Rock Creek Church Rd.  The approximate address is 300 Randolph st, NW, DC, 20011. For clinics, turn right immediately at the Guard station and head south to the Pond area. On race weekend, signs will direct racers to the Parking areas located on Arnold Dr.  Please park only in designated areas and not on any active roads.

Check the Clinics page for other clinics presented by DCCX: http://www.dcmtb.com/clinics-2012/

Follow us on Facebook for updates!

Please visit webpages from previous races under the DCCX menu at dcmtb.com for stories, results, video and pictures.


Previous DCCX Elite Champions

Elite Men

2011 Lukas Winterberg Philadelphia Cyclocross School

2010 Joe Dombrowski

2009 Ryan Dewald

2008 Wes Schempf

2007 Wes Schempf

DCCX-V Women’s Podium Celebrates: Laura Murray, Arley Kemmerer, Laura Van Gilder, Alyson Tufano. Jennifer Maxwell not present

Elite Women

2011 Laura van Gilder -C3/Mellow Mushroom

2010 Arley Kemmerer -C3

2009 Arley Kemmerer -C3

2008 Patty Buerkle

2007 Betsy Shogren


Elite Masters 35+

2011 Paul Rades -November Bicycles CX Experience

2010 Blair Saunders

2009 Dave Fuentes

2008 Blair Saunders

2007 Bernie Schiao


Elite Masters 45+

2011 Jerzy Wozniak- Winchester Wheelman Race Team