Welcome to the CMZ Homepage

The mission of the Central Montana Zone

Further interagency cooperation, communications, and coordination, and to provide interagency fire management direction and all risk support for the Central Montana Zone within the Northern Rockies Geographic Area.

The mission is achieved by:
     • Operating at a strategic oversight level.
     • Encouraging cooperation across jurisdictional and administrative boundaries.
     • Providing oversight of fire health and safety issues.
     • Providing interagency direction to field units.
     • Providing a group response to agency specific requests that have interagency

The zone encompasses the USDA Forest Service for Helena, Beaverhead-Deerlodge and the Lewis & Clark National Forests; Montana DNRC-Central Land Office for Dillon, Conrad and Helena Units as well as the Lincoln Office of the Southwest MT Land Office; USDOI-Bureau of Land Management for portions of Butte, Dillon and Lewistown Field Offices;  USDOI-Bureau of Reclamation; USDOI-Bureau of Indian Affairs for the Rocky Boy, Blackfeet and Fort Belknap tribes; US Fish and Wildlife Services; Montana Fish Wildife and Parks;  areas administrated by National Park Service within the CMZ; portions of Counties within Powell, Jefferson, Lewis & Clark, Meagher, Madison, Butte Silver Bow, Broadwater, Cascade, Beaverhead, Teton, Pondera, Toole, Glacier and Liberty.