Hawkesbury River Writers

2012 Prose Fiction Competition - RESULTS

Updated 9am September 2, 2012.

First Prize:  "Two Sides Like Her Hips"  – Marjorie Lewis-Jones  – Drummoyne NSW

Second Prize: 

"French Champagne"  – Peter S Fisher  – Buderim QLD

Short Listed:

"Captain Braveheart" – David Cambell – Beaumaris VIC

"The Talisman" – Jan Foster – Grovedale VIC

"The Hands We Were Dealt" – Carmel Lillis – Yarraville VIC

"Chariya" – Liz Newton – Woolwich NSW


2012 Prose Fiction Competition.
(Not open to members of Hawkesbury River Writers)

A short story (must be fiction) - open theme, any genre.

Maximum 1000 words.

Deadline for entries: 30 June 2012

Prizes: 1st $200, 2nd $100.

Certificates of Commendation may be awarded at the judge's discretion.

Entries:  $10 each;  no limit per entrant.

Send entries, postmarked no later than 30 June 2012 to:

The Competition Convener, 5 Gibbins Close, Hornsby NSW 2077.

For further information contact Alan Michie at: email alanmichie@gmail.com; or 02 9476 4640.

Entries must be typed (printed), not hand-written.

Use either 1.5 line spacing or double-spacing, on A4 sized paper.

Use a standard font, size 12 pt minimum.

NO name or address to appear on the manuscripts.

No entry form is required.  A separate COVER SHEET must be attached, containing the title of the entry, the word count, and the author's name, address, telephone number and email address (if applicable).

The title and page number (ONLY) of the entry should appear on each

page of the manuscript.

Entries must be original work and must not have won a cash prize in any other competition, nor ever been published in any form.

Cheques and/or money orders should be made payable to Hawkesbury River Writers.

Multiple entries may be paid for with one cheque or money order.

Copyright remains with the author.  Entries will not be returned.

The announcement of results will be on 1 September 2012.

The judging panel’s decisions will be final and no correspondence will be entered into.

If you require a copy of the results mailed to you, please send a standard DL-sized stamped, self-addressed envelope (SSAE) with your entry.


2011 Prose Fiction Competition - RESULTS

First Prize:“Chocolate and Communion”  – Bernard Russell Smith – Ruse, NSW
Second Prize:“The Morning After” – Valerie Volk – Novar Gardens, SA
Highly Commended:"A Man's Home" – AJ Lester – Joondalup, WA

Short Listed:
“Envy” – Anne Atkinson – Annandale, QLD
“Fisn n' Chips n' Moira” – Trevor Sanders – Berowra Heights, NSW
"Defiant" – John D McMullan – East Perth, WA

2010 Prose Fiction Competition - RESULTS


First Prize:  “Angel Burnt Orange”  - David Blisset – Mount Colah, NSW
Second Prize: “Acquiesce” – Michael Giacometti – Alice Springs, NT

Highly Commended: 

“The Surgeon” – Richard Stone - Fadden, ACT 

 “The Family Heirloom” – Robbie McCauley - Mudjimba, Queensland



“A Cyclone in My Life” – Robbie McCauley – Mudjimba, Queensland 

“Missing” – Peter Watts –Byford , WA 

“Glued Together” – Lorraine Jean Tinworth-Craske – Battery Hill, Queensland 

“A Good Cuppa Tea” – Garry Hurle – Calulu, Victoria 

“Eighty Seven” – Mark J MacNamara – Berowra Heigthts, NSW





2009 Prose Fiction Competition - RESULTS


First Prize:  “A Tender Moment” – Pam Reynolds – Goulburn, NSW

Second Prize: “Schadenfreude” Michelle Lopert – Kendall, NSW




“The Stalker” – Yvonne Saw – Bridport, Tasmania

“Leaving Mindanao” – David Campbell – Beaumaris Victoria




2008 Prose Fiction Competition - RESULTS


First Prize:  “You Must Die So I Can Live” - Michelle Lopert – Kendall, NSW

Second Prize: “The Other Side” - Annette Hamilton - Rozelle, NSW

Highly Commended: “The Tree-House” - Michael Hunt - Lismore, NSW





“Play It Again” - Jacqueline Winn  - Possum Brush, NSW

“Butterfly Steps” - Sandra James - Traralgon, VIC

“Cousins” - Johan Luidens  - Green Point, NSW

“Shalott”   - Joanne Mills - Darlington, WA





2007 Prose Fiction Competition - RESULTS

First Prize:  “Dixie” - David Campbell - Beaumaris Victoria

Second Prize: “The Legacy” - Neil McInnes - Yamba NSW




“A Well Staged Murder” - Margaret Symonds - Bundanoon NSW

“Forks in The Road” - Sandra Lynn James - Tralalgon Victoria

“The Grass is Greener” - David Terelinck - Guildford NSW

“Some Relation!” - Dann Spijer  - Mt Eliza Victoria


For further information contact the competition convener:

 Alan Michie on 02 9476 4640 (+612 9476 4640)  or email: alanmichie@gmail.com