Jennifer Finn‎ > ‎

Learning Theory

Blooms Taxonomy

Blooms Taxonomy focuses on three parts called cognitive, affective, and psychomotor which can be described as knowing, feeling and doing.  Cognitive learning refers to the development of knowledge and intellectual skills in learning. This can usually be introduced in the classroom through written assignments. Previous knowledge is always encouraged before starting a lesson plan because it will make it easier for students to remember. Once the comprehension stage is complete, students generally apply and analyze what they have learned. Students then bring their information together in a different way than presented and instructors can complete the evaluation process.  When using Blooms Taxonomy, the goal of the learner is to understand the information well enough so they are easily able to describe it to someone else and remember it in the future. Blooms Taxonomy relates to this website because students first hear the information in the Xtranormal videos, read information and look at pictures, partake in activities set up by the instructor, and finally take an overall assessment to get a full understanding on what they have learned.

Constructivist Theory

The Constructivist Theory states that children construct their own knowledge. Through their own experiences and research, children will learn in their own unique way. The constructivist theory promotes independent working and typically does not follow a step by step lesson plan constructed by the teacher. The teacher tends to take an observation or stand offish role and let children be active and learn. This website supports the Constructivist Theory because students are given so many opportunities to work on this website themselves, and there are plenty of educational activities and opportunities for children to conduct their own research on the Sonoran Desert.

Multiple Intelligence

The Multiple Intelligence Theory states that students learn in a wide variety due to their cognitive abilities. The different types of multiple intelligence are:

Logical/Mathematical: Children learn through reasoning, logic, abstractions, and numbers.
Spacial:  Children learn with spacial judgement and practice their ability to visualize.
Linguistic: Children learn through words spoken or written. Telling stories, reading, and listening to others are part of this category.
Bodily-Kinesthetic: Children learn through their bod movement and their ability to handle objects skillfully.
Musical: Children learn through sounds, rhythms, tones, and music.
Interpersonal: Children learn through interaction with others.
Intrapersonal: Children learn through their own feelings and understanding of one self.
Naturalistic: Children learn through relating and nurturing information to their natural surrondings. 

This  theory can be seen in this website through the endless amount of learning techniques. This website encourages students to learn in all different types of styles, for example listening to an animated video, reading books, taking a nature walk, going on field trips, creating art projects, etc.